cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
angie_newbie
Level I

Continuous Variables Nested within a Categorical Variable?

Hello, I am new to JMP and am not sure how to model my data so any suggestions on the steps I should take would be much appreciated!! I apologize in advance for my very limited knowledge of statistics.

I have a data set with a categorical variable (donor) and two parameters unique to each donor that are continuous (age and BMI). I would like to see how different response variables (also continuous - e.g. cell growth, etc.) are affected by a donor's age and BMI, and whether there is any interaction between age and BMI in determining the responses. How would you go about doing this? I have been using fit model to do this, at first with donor, age, and BMI all as separate inputs. It seemed like the results explained differences among the donors only, and did not elucidate the effects of age and BMI. When I used fit model with just age and BMI (excluded donor as a factor), the results showed regressions with the effects of both age and BMI. So it seems like there are two ways to model this; one where I can report which donors are significantly different from one another for each response, and one where I can report the effects of age and BMI on each response. I am not sure if I need to use the cross button in the second model to observe the interaction effects of age and BMI. I also don't know how to model all 3 independent variables at the same time. Do I need to nest age and BMI within donor? The support page for the nest option says that nested terms must be categorical. 

Thank you so much, any feedback is much appreciated!! 

9 REPLIES 9
statman
Super User