cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Jrhorowitz4
Level II

Bars not centered on axis labels

I am very new to JMP and it took me almost three hours to make the graph that's in the image attached. I have no idea how to code, but was told to try JMP out for data analysis. My issue right now is that my bars aren't centered on the axis labels. I've tried changing the spacing on the axis, but that just makes the bars move even more. Any help would be appreciated because I am very lost and I have a ton of graphs to still make. If there's also a way to make the bars wider, that'd be great too. I tried the width proportion, but the bars seemed to have doubled so I wasn't sure if that was right. I'm using JMP Pro 14.2. Thank you!

JMP Graph Builder.png

7 REPLIES 7
txnelson
Super User

Re: Bars not centered on axis labels

Here is my "solution" to your issue; 

txnelson_1-1680664714818.png

I had to make up my own data, and in it, I only had one data point for each bar, so the box plots are not displayed correctly, but I believe with your data, the box plots will work correctly.

My solution, is an ugly solution.  The only redeeming quality to it, is that it displays the data the way you want it to.

Here are the changes that I did to your chart to make it work

1. I moved Treatment from Overlay to Color.  Overlay forces all Volume levels to be in each overlay, thus your offset labels.
  2. Rather than just having Volume as your X axis, I included both  Volume and Treatment on the axis.
    1. To remove the axis values for Treatment, I went into the Axis Settings for Treatment and unselected "Show Tick Labels"
    2. To change the Axis Label that is listing both Volume and Treatment, I clicked on the label and typed in Volume
  3. I then Right Clicked on the graph, and selected Customize
    1. I selected Bar, and changed the Width Proportion to 1