cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
RSantana
Level II

Adding Images to A Data Table From a Directory

Friends, I am running JMP12 and I would like to add a series of PNG images to my data table.  I would like to do this so that I can use them as labels on a scatterplot of statistical mean-matching flags and invoke the PNG (an image of a control limit chart) by hovering the mouse over the value of each flag.  I found an SAS video by Gail Massari importing state bird pictures from a wikipedia web URL; different than him, my images are in a folder, on a local hard drive. 

I have tried the instruction:

{"",{ newimage(open( "drive:\file path\filename.png",png))}" as a entry in each respective row but all I get in return is an "Empty()" output.

I am new to JSL scripting and I have run out of ideas.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
gzmorgan0
Super User (Alumni)

Re: Adding Images to A Data Table From a Directory

RSantana, Gail's video was demonstarting how to get pics from URLs, not embedded pictures.

Try the script that startw with Names default to Here(1). It was created in JMP 12.

Note, if all of your pictures are of the same type then you can simplify lines 11 and 12. Suppose all your pictures are png, then you do not need line 11: _typ = word() and line 12 you can remove the Eval( EvalExpr() ) functions. I needed it for this example because the sample images have different types and in JMP 12, the open would not evaluate the variable _ext; it required that the expression be substituted then evaluated.  

This would be the simplified line 12    tp = Open("$Sample_images/"||_fid[i], "png" );

Copy and paste this into a JMP script window, run it then hover over the points. One final comment this is embedding each picture's "code" into your table column.

Names Default to Here(1);

_fid = Files in Directory("$sample_images");
nr = nitems(_fid);
//Create a table