cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Submit your abstract to the call for content for Discovery Summit Americas by April 23. Selected abstracts will be presented at Discovery Summit, Oct. 21- 24.
Discovery is online this week, April 16 and 18. Join us for these exciting interactive sessions.
Which Model When?

You have a business or research question, you’ve collected or found appropriate data, and you are ready to analyze. But which analytical methods should you try? And how will you choose a final model?

Full Transcript (Automatically Generated)

View more...

So I'm Ruth Hummel, I work as a technical person helping out people in the academic area. And Mary is a manager of folks like me for a lot of the United States. So we get questions a lot from people about which model should I use? How do I decide which model to use? And I'm going to warn you now, we're not going to answer all your questions in 20 minutes. But what we will focus on in the next 2025 minutes is the idea that when you're asking what model to use, you really need to start by asking What are you trying to do? What is your goal? What are you trying to accomplish in your data analysis? So to kind of motivate some things, as we talk about this, we're going to mostly stick with this example about housing prices. So we have a data set. We have information like the price of a home We have other information about features of that home, like the number of bedrooms in that home, the number of bathrooms, the lot size, the year it was built, and so on.