cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
  • Don’t miss your chance to experience Discovery Summit Europe at our best available rate! Early bird registration through 31 Oct.
  • Graph Builder Toolbar streamlines interactive graphing. Creates shortcuts on Report and GraphBuilder Helpers toolbars. Download and install the extension.
  • JMP will suspend normal business operations for our Rest and Recharge Day on Friday, October 2, 2026.
    Regular business hours will resume on Monday, October 5, 2026.

JMP Library

Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Navigating the JMP interface in Microsoft Windows

This guide provides information on the Windows JMP interface. For information on creating a new data table, opening data tables, and finding help within JMP see  Opening JMP and Getting Started.

 

The Home Window

  • When you first open JMP, you’ll see the Tip of the Day window.
  • You’ll also see the JMP Home Window, which includes:
    • Menus and toolbars (top).
    • Recently used files (on the left).
    • All open data tables and windows (on the right). Hover over an item in the list for a preview.
  • The JMP Starter, Home Window and other features can be accessed via the View menu.

JMP Home WindowJMP Home Window

Navigation

  • Data tables display thumbnails of open reports (bottom left).
    Hover over a thumbnail for a preview.
  • Each data table and report provides icons (bottom right corner) to facilitate navigation between windows:
    • Return to the Home Window (or, click CNTL – 1).  gail_massari_3-1752686882341.png 
    • Go to the data table. gail_massari_4-1752686882341.png 
    • Select to arrange with other windows. gail_massari_5-1752686882341.png  

Data table open reports bottom leftData table open reports bottom left

Tips:

  • Each window has a JMP menu and toolbar. 
  • To view a hidden menu click Alt, or hover on the report window where the menu would normally appear.
  • To have menus and toolbars always display, go to File > Preferences > Windows Specific and change Auto-hide menus and toolbars from Based on window size to Never.
  • The JMP Home Window and Tip of the Day appear by default when JMP is opened. To change the default windows, use File > Preferences > General.

File>Preferences>GeneralFile>Preferences>General

 

Recommended Articles