cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar

applying formula to entire jmp data table

Hi,

I am new to using jmp and sas, so I apologize that this may be a simple question. I have a table with values in it, and I would like to create a new table with the same columns and rows, but with a formula applied to the entire new table. I have thousands of columns, so it is not practical to apply the formula column by column. I would really appreciate any suggestions that anyone could offer.

Thanks!
6 REPLIES 6
mpb
mpb
Level VII

Re: applying formula to entire jmp data table

I am assuming you mean to apply the exact same formula to thousands of columns where the formula involves some other group of columns in your table.

I searched the forum for: formula many columns . I didn't get an exact hit but did turn up a thread titled "Re: How to apply column properties to multiple columns?" with this link:
http://support.sas.com/forums/click.jspa?searchID=130676&messageID=27311
You want to use "Standardize Attributes" in the Columns Menu.
The "property" you want to apply is a formula. When you have selected "formula" then you will see an "edit formula" button which takes you to the formula editor.

Thanks mpb,

This sounds like it should work, but it isn't. I know you might not have any further advice, but I guess I will just throw the problem I am having out there.

What I need to do seems really simple. I have multiple columns (say x, y, and z). I want to multiply them all by 25 (e.g., 25*x, 25*y, and 25*z). When I create a formula (e.g., 25*x) and then apply it to the other columns, it applies it literally, not iterively - all the columns become 25*x (instead of 25*y, 25*z).