cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Submit your abstract to the call for content for Discovery Summit Americas by April 23. Selected abstracts will be presented at Discovery Summit, Oct. 21- 24.
Discovery is online this week, April 16 and 18. Join us for these exciting interactive sessions.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
mrichie
Level I

Using "If" formula sometimes returns blank cells

I'm a student using JMP for my first time, so apologies for any wrong terminology.
I'm using this formula to assign a code to different spending ranges for RFM analysis.
If Formula.png 

The problem I'm encountering is with the top value 259.85. It sometimes returns the correct code "5" and other times returns a blank cell. 

Example.png

Can anybody help me clear this up? Thanks for any input!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ih
Super User (Alumni) ih
Super User (Alumni)

Re: Using "If" formula sometimes returns blank cells

The value total_money could be between 259.84 and 259.85.  You might try removing the upper bound of the 'else if' conditions in the if statement and leaving an open 'else' condition.  Two other common problems that do not appear to apply here are missing data and the wrong type of data. Here is an example:

conditional.PNG

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
ih
Super User (Alumni) ih
Super User (Alumni)

The value total_money could be between 259.84 and 259.85.  You might try removing the upper bound of the 'else if' conditions in the if statement and leaving an open 'else' condition.  Two other common problems that do not appear to apply here are missing data and the wrong type of data. Here is an example:

conditional.PNG

mrichie
Level I

Thanks, ih. Based on your input I reworked the formula to look like this:

If Formula 2.png