cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Have your say in shaping JMP's future by participating in the new JMP Wish List Prioritization Survey
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
HoaLe99
Level II

Problem with RSM analysis

Dear JMP staffs and users!

I'm an undergraduate student and in my process to do a research. I have some problems with result analysis. I used RSM (classical design) to optimize my response with a matrix including 3 independent variables. To increase confidence level, I added 1 replicate in my design, so the matrix included 40 runs. Then I started to analyze the results from experimental matrix design, my R2 value is 96% and Pvalue <0.001 but P lack of fit value is significant. In another way, I didn't show replicate in my design, but each run was still replicated 1 time and calculated mean value. Then, my R2 and Pvalue are not changed and P lack of fit value is not significant. Therefore, I want to know what is the right way to analyze the results?

I am looking forward to your responses.

Best regard! 

9 REPLIES 9
Phil_Kay
Staff

Re: Problem with RSM analysis

Hi @HoaLe99 ,

Just to clarify, by saying that you added 1 replicate do you mean that you had a design with 20 runs (probably the central composite with 6 centre points) and you duplicated all runs for 40 runs in total? And can I check that they are true replicates. That is, all 40 runs were carried out independently rather than just replicating the measurement of the response.

Assuming that is all true then the first analysis that you did with 40 runs is appropriate. This analysis properly reflects the noise of the experiment, and therefore you could expect that it would give rise to detecting significant lack of fit.

Significant lack of fit is not necessarily a problem. It is an indication that the model might not be completely adequate.