cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
vmontes
Level I

Loop for opening files, changing a column name and saving in the original format

Hello all,

I've tried to assemble a script for opening a series of files (.dx) and changing the text from one of the columns on each file. I manage to make it work for one or two files individually but if I try a set of four an infinite loop begins. Can anybody please help? There is a chance that the issue is with the files but I would like to vet the script first since I'm a novice at jsl. Ideally, I would like to save the files not as jmp but as dx also. 

Files = Pick File( "Select File(s)", "G:\Retention Compliant\Research\Analytical\Projects\IR database", {"All Files|*"}, 1, 0, "", "multiple" );
For( i = 1, i <= N Items( Files ), i++,
	Try( dt = Open( Files[i], "text" ) );
	wait( 0 );
For( n = 1, n <= N Items (Files), n++, 
colList = dt << get column names( character, string );
For( i = 1, i <= N Items( colList ), i++,
	selRows = dt << get rows where(
		Column( dt, colList[i] )[Row()] == "##YUNITS= % Transmittance" | Column( dt, colList[i] )[Row()] == "##YUNITS= % T"
	);
	If( N Rows( selRows ) > 0,
		Column( dt, colList[i] )[selRows] = "##YUNITS= % T";
	);
);
) );
4 REPLIES 4
Craige_Hales
Super User

Re: Loop for opening files, changing a column name and saving in the original format

1) reformat your JSL using the editor right-click popup. You'll be able to see the nesting better.

2) you are reusing the i variable in the inner loop. That's causing the loop.

3) remove the try() wrapper, or make it do something when it catches an error.

Craige
vmontes
Level I

Re: Loop for opening files, changing a column name and saving in the original format