cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Ainaskid
Level II

JSL- I don't see the corresponding script for corresponding GUI step

Hello community,

I'm new to JSL so my question may come across as daft. I'm in the process of automating a charted report for my team which is to be published on a weekly basis. I'm working in the JMP GUI and saving the scripts generated in the background. The steps i've attempted so far are:

1. Import data table (successfully saved working script)

2. Modify data table by creating a new column and populating it with 'char'/'nominal' variables. The plan is to utilize this column to create subset tables. For some reason the new column, along with its contents do not show up in the background JSL script. When I perform a 'subset' using the newly created variables, the corresponding script gets created. When I attempt running the entire script from start to finish, all it does is import the source data (likely due to the fact that the remaining portion of the script is attempting to create a subset using collumn names that don't exist in the source data). So far this has stunted my progress.

Any pointers?

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
txnelson
Super User

Re: JSL- I don't see the corresponding script for corresponding GUI step

The creation of new columns is not saved in what you are calling "Background Scripts";  You need to input that code manually into the script.

See

Help==>Scripting Index==>Data Table==>Data Table Cols==>New Column

Here is one of the examples from that entry

Names Default To Here( 1 );
dt = Open( "$SAMPLE_DATA/Big Class.jmp" );
dt << New Column( "X",
	Formula( Random Uniform() )
);
Jim

View solution in original post

julian