cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
New to using JMP? Hit the ground running with the Early User Edition of Discovery Summit. Register now, free of charge.
Register for our Discovery Summit 2024 conference, Oct. 21-24, where you’ll learn, connect, and be inspired.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
BJK_JerseyBoy
Level III

General guidance on follw-up DOE for DSDs and resources?

Hi I am a newbie in DOE and using JMP. I have pharmaceutical formulation that involves 5 continuous factors and 4 responses to optimize. I have used DSDs to identify the design space that I want to further explore and optimize the formulation.

I fit the model after acquiring the data and remove the effect that is not important (F5 and all quadratic forms and interactions).

NaiveModelFinch_1-1663367066352.png

By maximizing the desirability parameter, I found the optimal formulation as below.NaiveModelFinch_2-1663367094871.png

By looking at the each desirability function, I kind of get the idea that I will have to maximize F1 and minimize F3. F4 barely affect the desirability, so it could be fixed. Also, F2 is not significant factor but combination of F2*F3 is an important factor. This tells me that I would have to vary F2 and F3 for the next round of DOE to optimize the formulation.

The questions is;

1) How should I set the boundary of F2 and F3 to further optimize.

2) What DOE model should I apply for this type of optimization?

3) Lastly, are there any specific tools in JMP that allow me to systemically investigate the factors and design space to follow up for next DOE run rather than relying on my naive observations? I have played around with a graph builder but since I have 4 response that I want to optimize at the same time, it was not that helpful to find a design space to follow up with DOE.