Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
KevinT
Level I

Doe constraint on the blocking

Helo everyone

I am quite new in the design of experiment using JMP and I have an issue with the blocks.

The situation :

I would like to perform a DoE with :

-> 4 parameters of 2 levels

- 1 parameter, let call it "A", with 3 levels (A1, A2 and A3).

I have some constraintes :

- this experiment will be perform by "blocks", i.e for each 6 experiment, I will change my starting material which is known to have an impact on my response.

- One of the parameters of 2 Levels is linked to my starting material, it means that this parameter will be fixed by my starting material.

- Another constraint is that we can only test 2 levels of "A" per blocs.

As I coud not put constrainte in the blocking, I tried :

- A as "discrete numeric"

- 3 paramaters continous

- The parameter linked to ma starting mat in "uncontrolled"

- my starting mat as "Categorical"

And I used the disallowed combinaitions to eclude one "A" per "Categorical".

It seems to work but if I do so, I will not follow the order of the experiments (as I will work by blocks and it is not said to JMP). In addition, this is not very elegant as the categorical should be use to evaluate the effect of my starting materials, which I do not really need.

Do someone have suggestion ?

Thank you very much for reading,

Have a nice day and stay safe.

4 REPLIES 4

Re: Doe constraint on the blocking

Are the four factors at two levels continuous or categorical? Are the levels of factor A really categorical (A1, A2, and A3)?

Be careful, 'blocks' have a specific meaning in DOE. Let's check your meaning. Is the starting material used to provide 6 experimental units (samples)? If so, then blocking is correct.