cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
GregMcMahon
Level III

Deconvolution mass spectra

I am a JMP 17 Pro user and I am pretty sure what I want to do is pretty straightforward but I'm just not quite getting there. The problem is explained in the attached powerpoint where the figures help clarify the problem I am trying to solve. In this analysis, a single mass peak is obtained by scanning a voltage to deflect a beam of ions of specific mass through a slit into a detector that measures their intensity. The diameter of the beam is less than the width of a slit, so a single mass peak looks like a step function with a flat top. The width of the peak effectively represents the width of the slit. Now fast forward to real life where we can have 3 or 4 peaks at separated by only .05 or less atomic mass units. The measured intensity is then a convolution of these, and it would be tremendously useful to deconvolve and get the centroid mass value of each peak. I first tried the simple way - Distribution and fit continuous, but the type of fits available are not really suitable. I also tried "Fit Curve" to see if that might help but again no luck. I'm now thinking if wavelet analysis in FDE is the way to go, as a Haar wavelet seems quite appropriate, but I am struggling with the interpretation of the results (or maybe have not launched the platform properly). Realistically in the attached data, it looks like there is probably 4-5 peaks there. Thanks so much for any and all help! Best, Greg

4 REPLIES 4
GregMcMahon
Level III

Re: Deconvolution mass spectra

I should also add we usually look at these spectra with the y-axis (counts) on a log scale, which then clearly shows the presence of more than two peaks. We typically have very little electronic noise.

Ressel
Level VI

I suppose you've already found and read through HELP)) Signal deconvolution using JMP ?

GregMcMahon
Level III