Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
beverllp
Level I

Using JMP® to Compare Models from Various Environments (2020-US-45MP-593)

Level: Intermediate

Lucas Beverlin, Statistician, Intel, Corp.

The Model Comparison platform is an excellent tool for comparing various models fit within JMP Pro. However, it also has the ability to compare models fit from other software as well. In this presentation, we will use the Model Comparison platform to compare various models fit to the well-known Boston housing data set in JMP Pro15, Python, MATLAB, and R. Although JMP can interact with those environments, the Model Comparison platform can be used to analyze models fit from any software that can output its predictions.

Auto-generated transcript...

Speaker

Transcript

Lucas Okay, thanks everyone for coming and listen to my talk. My name is Lucas Beverlin. I'm a statistician at Intel.
And today I'm going to talk about using JMP to compare models from various environments.
Okay so currently JMP 15 Pro is the latest and greatest that JMP has out and if you want to fit the model and they've got several different tools to do that.
There's the fit model platform. There's the neural platform on neural network partition platform. If you want classification and regression trees. The nonlinear platform for non linear modeling and there's several more.
And so within JMP 15 I think it came out in 12 or 13 but this model comparison platform is a very nifty tool that you can use to compare
model fits from various platforms within JMP. So if you have a tree and a neural network and you're not really sure which one's better. Okay, you could flip back and forth between the two. But now with this,
you have everything on the same screen. It's very quick and easy to tell, is this better that that, so on so forth.
So that being said, JMP can fit a lot of things, but, alas, it can't fit everything. So just give a few ideas of some things that can't fit. So, for example,