Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
ddooley2
Level II

Max specific growth rate from OD data

Hi,

I'm extremely new to JMP Pro, so I am not sure if this is a dumb question. I am thrilled that JMP can help me analyze bacterial growth data quickly and effectively using the Cell Growth and Logistic models, but sometimes it is preferable to report the more rudimentary maximum specific growth rate instead of the overall growth rate. Is there an established and high-throughput way to do that in JMP? I don't want to have to ln transform the data, find linear region, fit a linear model, etc. 

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

David

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ddooley2
Level II

Re: Max specific growth rate from OD data

I'm assuming the data can be quite easily log transformed in JMP Pro. From there, all I would need would be some kind of trimming technique that confines the data to the linear range in the log scale (i.e. the period of exponential growth). After the data is trimmed, a simple linear regression is all that is needed to find the maximum growth rate... 

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6

Hi @ddooley2 ,

You could try saving the first-derivative formula under the curve you have applied in Fit Curve

Ben_Ingham_0-1712839509237.png

You can then take the saved column and use Tables > Summary or Tabulate and create a table with the max first derivative (slope) values.

Ben_Ingham_1-1712839631800.png

Hope that helps,

Thanks,

Ben

“All models are wrong, but some are useful”
ddooley2
Level II