Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
gustavjung
Level III

Interpretation of a Factorial Design with binary outcome

Hello!

I am struggling with interpretation of factorial design with 4 elements. Before I tried experiments with 2 elements, and results were straightforward.

Here in the attachment you can see my jmp dataset file with the experiment.

gustavjung_1-1610475698399.png

As a result of removing non-significant elements I came to a conclusion that only C and В are significant with negative effect.
Is my conclusion correct?
Rsquare value is very low however chisquare value for elements is significant.
Maybe the experiment is underpowered and needs bigger sample size? 

gustavjung_0-1610475547184.png

PS.
Sorry for newbie questions, I am still learning.  
In general, trying to interpret different DoE experiments when I reduce the degree of factorial design from full to a degree of 2 or remove some variables from a model the effect of the same variable changes significantly sometimes to an opposite direction. 
Do I need to look at misinterpretation rate to choose a model in this case?
Are obliged then to run a follow-up experiment with the winning variable, or you can just ship it? What is the approach here?
Can you please point me to an article or a book with a structured approach how to interpret results of binary DoE?

Thanks

Learning DOE
8 REPLIES 8

Re: Interpretation of a Factorial Design with binary outcome

First of all, binary responses often lead to very low R square even when there are significant relationships. It just means that there is a large uncertainty in the predicted outcome for given conditions. It might be due to lack of fit, but again, it is very common with such a response.

Third time is a charm?

The probit analysis worked but the results are practically the same.

Also, there is nothing wrong with your data - my bad.