Choose Language Hide Translation Bar

A Mixture/Process Experimental Design and SVEM Analysis for an Esterification Reaction

An experimental design was created to study the formation of an unwanted byproduct in an esterification reaction. Four mixture component factors plus one process-based factor were used to generate a 26-run space filling experimental matrix, specifically for analysis using Self-Validated Ensemble Modelling (SVEM). This approach was selected over a traditional mixture design intended for a polynomial Scheffe model. The resulting predictive model was an excellent fit to the data, clearly identifying the impact of each factor on the level of byproduct formed. This information was used to accelerate the development of a kinetic model and scale up the process.

Hello, I'm Andrew Fish. I'm a Senior Principal researcher at Johnson Matthey. I'm a chemist by background. I've been working with JMP since 2016. My poster today is a mixture: process experimental design and SVEM analysis for an esterification reaction.

As a way of introduction, so within the catalyst technologies business of Johnson Matthey, we sell catalysts and floor sheets for a range of different technologies, and that lends itself quite to design of experiments and to advanced data analytics. We develop catalyst formulations, and we optimize process conditions for chemical reactions. What we do is we work at small scales in the laboratory, and we translate that to commercial-sized reactors.