cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Registration open for Discovery Summit Europe. User Group Members benefit from a 25% discount with the code: DSEUgroup24
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
kurtljohnson
Visitor

Data! What is it good for?

As analytic practitioners we rely on data to make judgments in everything we do.  But does your data reflect reality?  What am I getting at?  What more truth is there than raw data? And what is more exciting than turning that data into actionable information? To answer this question, let me tell you a story about myself that some of you might be able to relate to. Over the years I have put on a few excessive pounds that I am trying to get rid of.  As a good statistician, I gather data on my progress daily by stepping on the scale. Here is the dirty little secret that most of you can relate to: if I don’t like the number that I see, I often step off the scale and get back on and guess what half the time I see a better answer!

When we get data we are looking at the truth through the prism of a measurement process and just like any other process it can have issues with Precision (variability) and Accuracy (bias). This begs the question of what is a data geek supposed to do? Luckily JMP supports a process called Gauge R&R that helps us to set up an experiment and understand the Accuracy and Precision of our measurement system.

11228_pastedImage_0.png

To answer the Accuracy question, we need to obtain the truth by getting a NIST traceable standard. Now this standard should be as representative of what we will be measuring as possible.  This can sometimes take a bit of creative thinking as standards usually aren’t objects that we are measuring in our processes. I will leave that discussion for another time, but trust me if you think creatively about what you are measuring you can usually get something that is representative of your process.