cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Submit your abstract to the call for content for Discovery Summit Americas by April 23. Selected abstracts will be presented at Discovery Summit, Oct. 21- 24.
Discovery is online this week, April 16 and 18. Join us for these exciting interactive sessions.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
bernd_heinen
Level V
The stack mole

Even though I’ve worked at JMP for more than 10 years, I’m still learning new things. Most recently, it was a new view of the Ishikawa diagram and the power of recursion. While both have been around for ages, it wasn’t until I had a specific challenge that I cared about them. This new motivation came when I was developing Geocoding 2020, an add-in that uses a REST API for communicating with a server. The data, coming from the server, was in form of a JSON array that could be quite large, depending on the data. One of the hidden gems in JMP (or more specifically, in JSL), is the command Parse JSON(), which translates a JSON array into a JSL list or associative array. It was a pretty good starting point, but still, if I wanted to grab specific parts of the data, I needed to know how to find and address them. Not an easy task if that array is made from several hundreds of items, deeply stacked in lists and arrays. So, I decided to write this helpful little program, stackmole.jsl, to give me an overview of the data structure. And, I wasn’t a respectable JMPer if I didn’t look for a graphical presentation.