Subscribe Bookmark
arati_mejdal

Staff

May 21, 2014

Why I Like JMP Analytics: A Graduate Student's Perspective

I have been an intern in the JMP Genomics department at SAS since May 2008 and am currently a student in the Master of Science in Analytics (MSA) program at North Carolina State University.

I’ve heard a lot of talk in the corporate world about analytics, but I’m not sure people always understand how important it is. The amount of data produced daily is exponentially increasing and expected to grow 30 times larger in the next decade (IDC, Digital Universe Study, April 2010). Analytics is going to be the key to data discovery, encompassing the talent to interpret and produce value from the data.

What exactly is analytics? At a high level, I’d say it’s the combination of applied statistics, programming and business skill sets.

Despite the high demand for analytical talent, the MSA program at NCSU is the only graduate degree in analytics in the country, and it’s only three years old. Completing the program takes 10 months, and it simulates the real world with its full-day schedule.

I am in my fifth week in the program and have already been exposed to so much amazing technology. We have learned SAS, DataFlux, GIS mapping software and, last but not least, JMP software. The MSA program also incorporates communication training in the technology courses. That’s because it’s important to not only be able to analyze your data but also to convey your results effectively.

So far I am really enjoying the program and am looking forward to learning more about marketing analysis, which is the area I would like to work in when I graduate. The program also focuses heavily on group work, and I’ve learned a lot from other students in the program who all come from different backgrounds and have varying experience levels.