Subscribe Bookmark RSS Feed
Dan_Obermiller

Apr 3, 2013

What chocolate is best for Valentine’s Day? Not cocoa powder

As Valentine’s Day approaches, a wise person starts thinking about what gift to give to their loved ones. Chocolate is always a popular gift. And as a homeschooling parent, I try to turn many things into lessons. How could I turn chocolate into a lesson for my children, and how can I get some chocolate out of the deal? The answer became clear: a chocolate tasting survey.

As with any good research project, this lesson required some background information. My kids learned about the different types of chocolates, the history of chocolate, how chocolate was made, where the cacao beans grow, and how different countries make chocolate. All of this research led to the question of interest: What type of chocolate is favored by most people? As a statistician, I was really excited by this project (more so than my kids!) because it was going to be their first school project where they could truly apply some statistical methods.

Since they already had learned about different types of chocolate, they decided they wanted to compare the taste of these different types: bittersweet chocolate, cocoa powder, dark sweet chocolate, milk chocolate, semisweet chocolate and white chocolate. After explaining the difference between a rating and a ranking, the kids decided that they would have people rate the taste of the chocolates on a 1 to 5 scale rather than ranking. Regardless of the choice between rating and ranking, there can be a downside. As you will see in some of the data in a moment, we definitely had one of those downsides! The rating scale went from 1 for dislike the taste very much up to 5 for like the taste very much.

Gathering the data