Subscribe Bookmark
Richard_Zink

Staff

May 27, 2014

Using JSL to select the first or last record in a set

When considering my professional life, I'm a relative newcomer to JMP. In fact, my JMP and JSL (JMP Scripting Language) experience began the day I became a developer here in the JMP Life Sciences group, about four years ago. In contrast, I've been using SAS since I was an undergraduate student in mathematics, giving me more than 20 years of experience. Though there are a lot of differences between the two languages, one of the things I enjoy most about my job is using this very large and rich toolset to develop cool new features for JMP Clinical.

Even though I have access to both JMP and SAS, I sometimes find myself wondering how to replicate a feature in SAS using JSL. The subject of this blog post is how to replicate the SAS data step behavior to select first and last records within by groups. In SAS, this is performed by first sorting the data and using special keywords within the data step. For example, if I had the Big Class data table formatted in SAS and wanted to choose the first boy and girl alphabetically, the program below would accomplish this:

proc sort data = bigclass;

by sex name;

run;

data first;

set bigclass;

by sex name;

if first.sex;

run;

To choose the last boy and girl alphabetically, I would use if last.sex;.   Similar logic applies if I wanted to select first and last within additional by groups. Say, I wanted to pick the shortest person for each name within gender, the following would do that:

proc sort data = bigclass;

by sex name height;

run;

data first;

set bigclass;

by sex name height;

if first.name;

run;