Subscribe Bookmark
Jeff_Perkinson

Community Manager

Jun 23, 2011

Using JMP to Count Cars

This blog post was written by a blogger who is no longer at SAS

I'm a rising senior at the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics. During this summer, I worked as a technical summer student at SAS.

While JMP 8 doesn’t have image manipulation support, it does allow the user to create a custom DLL that can be invoked from JSL. So I created a DLL that allowed some functions from ImageMagick, an open source image library, to be called from JSL.

Using this DLL, I tried to count cars in photos from some of the North Carolina Department of Transportation's Webcams. Here's an image from the one near Exit 289 off Interstate 40, in the Raleigh area:

Unmodified image from DOT webcam

Unfortunately, the more distant parts of the road are hard to see because everything blurs together. So I didn't look at that part. I cropped it out.

To make the later calculations easier, I also converted the images to grayscale, so I only had to work with a single intensity for each pixel, rather than three color channels.

The image then looked like this:

Image from DOT webcam, cropped and converted to grayscale

In order to count the cars, I needed to know what parts of the pictures were cars. Since the Webcams update every 3 minutes, I had a lot of other pictures to which to compare each one. So for each picture, I analyzed, I looked at the 10 pictures before it and the 10 pictures after it and averaged the 20 of them together. The result was pretty close to a picture of the road with no cars, as you can see:

Average of surrounding pictures

This picture told me what parts of the image I was looking at were not cars. By subtracting it from the image I was analyzing, I got a nice picture of what parts were cars:

Difference between current picture and average of surrounding pictures