cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
calking
Staff
The crime rate conundrum

Every year they arrive.

“[Such and such a place] was ranked the Safest City in America!”

“The Top 10 Most Dangerous Cities in 2018" 

“You’ll Never Guess the City with the Most [Insert Crime of Choice]”

Maybe it started as a spark of curiosity from my Internet Explorer newsfeed (before I made the switch to Google Chrome and never looked back…). More likely, it started when I was a resident of Albuquerque, which last I checked was unfortunately still struggling with a rampant property crime wave (see here for a somewhat humorous take on the situation). In any case, I’ve become intrigued by the annual lists put out by the likes of Money magazine or Niche that claim to showcase the best and/or safest cities in America.

As one might expect, there’s quite a bit of information that goes into creating these rankings. The best sites will describe their methodology, and it often varies from site to site. However, nearly all of them base their crime rate information on the usual gold standard: the FBI Uniform Crime Reports. These reports are gathered on an annual basis and contain counts of reported offenses displayed in various tables. Of particular interest to me (and those generating these lists) are the tables that gave the reported offenses at the city level (Table 6 for years up to 2016 and Table 8 for 2017). After some “fancy” data importing and manipulation, I was able to compile a database of reported offenses for cities throughout the US from 2010 to 2017.