Subscribe Bookmark
brookefortson

Aug 2, 2011

Quality by Design (QbD) using JMP

I recently had the opportunity to sit down with course developer and JMP instructor Heath Rushing to talk about his new course “Quality by Design (QbD) Using JMP Software.” This course focuses on how to establish a systematic approach to pharmaceutical development that is defined by Quality-by-Design principles using design of experiments (DOE). I was interested in hearing about the strategies behind the course development and who would benefit most from the course.

Why did you create this course? Who would benefit from taking it?

My background is in the pharma/biopharma/medical device industry, so naturally, I was teaching JMP courses to these industries. As I was teaching, the same questions keep coming up from scientists and engineers who were developing processes: How does this relate to QbD? How do I determine my key process parameters? How do I establish a design space? How does this relate to risk management? What about process control and capability? What is "power," and why do the regulatory agencies care about it? They were basically asking, "How can we complete our pharmaceutical/process development studies in the manner suggested by the guidance documents and present it in a coherent, organized fashion?" I created this course to help answer those very questions using real-world data sets so the participants could see how the concepts related to their specific functions.

What skills can a student expect to acquire from this course? Would they be able to begin using these newly acquired skills when they return to work?