Subscribe Bookmark RSS Feed
ryan_lekivetz

Nov 1, 2013

Mmm cookies: a tale of discrete numeric variables, disallowed combinations and alias optimality

(Photo courtesy of Trish O'Grady)

How do individual ingredients affect the taste ratings of cookies? Design of experiments can help find out. (Photo courtesy of Trish O'Grady)

When I was in graduate school, one of my hobbies was to bake cookies for the department. For one of the basic chocolate chip cookie recipes, it wasn’t uncommon to switch the chocolate chips with another ingredient that was on sale that week (I was a grad student, after all). That also meant I had enough volunteers to give ratings on cookies to give me a reasonable response value on a batch of cookies. What if I wanted to find out how each of these ingredients individually affects the taste of the cookie?

For this example, I’m looking at walnuts, raisins, chocolate chips, pecans, coconut, toffee and brownie chunks. I can afford to make 14 batches of cookies, so a simple approach would be to make two batches with each ingredient. However, it’s going to be very difficult to pick up the differences between ingredients unless I have very little variation between batches, which is easier said than done. This sounds like a good opportunity to use design of experiments, and specifically Custom Design in JMP, so that I can use multiple ingredients in a batch! However, here are a couple of things I need to consider:

1. If I’m using multiple ingredients per batch, it’s very likely there are active two-factor interactions that I’m not interested in estimating.
  2. The structure of the cookie is going to break down with too many added ingredients, so I decide not to bake cookies with more than four ingredients in a batch.
  3. To handle the first issue, I can use an Alias Optimal design, but the second issue is a bit trickier.