Subscribe Bookmark RSS Feed
melinda_thielba

May 27, 2014

JMP Categorical features you never knew about: Aligned Responses

As a developer, I try to make sure all the most-used features of JMP are where you can find them easily. That’s why the options to change the statistics shown in the crosstab are at the top of Categorical’s red triangle menu. That’s why the new “Redo” and “Save Script” buttons are always in the same spot. But there are always some neat features that I wish I could make more prominent. This blog series will show off a few of them, starting with Aligned Responses.

Many surveys have questions about a person’s attitudes toward different ideas, or their satisfaction with different attributes of a good or service. Most of these are rated on an ordinal scale (e.g., 1-5 where 1 is “Poor”, and 5 is “Excellent”, or 1-5 where 1=”Strongly Disagree” and 5= “Strongly Agree”). Sensory analysis often uses a “Just About Right” (JAR) scale where negative numbers indicate “Not enough” of a particular flavor (Saltiness, Sweetness, etc), positive numbers indicate “Too much” of the flavor, and values near 0 are “Just About Right”.

All of these cases have two features in common: 1) The values have an inherent order, and 2) they are all measured on the same scale. You can use Aligned Responses in the Categorical platform to get a streamlined comparison for many of these columns at once.

Measures of self-perception

As an example, let’s take a look at a famous survey about attitudes and social activities called the “Bowling Alone” data. This data set has a lot of questions that would be good candidates for Aligned Responses. Let’s take a look at a series of questions that measures how people feel about themselves:

• I am the kind of person who knows what I want to accomplish in life and how to achieve it (ACCOMPLISH)
  • My friends and neighbors often come to me for advice about products and brands (ADVICE)
  • I have better taste than most people (BETTASTE)