Subscribe Bookmark
russ_wolfinger

May 27, 2014

I Like 3-D Pie Charts

So you know I’m a faithful left-brained statistician who makes every attempt to adhere to the highest professional standards of data visualization and analysis. Graphics luminaries like Edward Tufte and Stephen Few have made very valuable contributions to the field, and I bow to their wisdom.

But I have a secret confession to make: I like three-dimensional pie charts. It’s wrong, and I don’t know why; I just like them. Actually, I may be starting to figure out why. (BTW, new research reveals that a telltale sign of having at least one geek allele is a preponderance to begin sentences with the word “actually”—we’re searching for the corresponding genes with JMP Genomics.)

We know the commandments from the graphics gods: Keep it simple. Avoid chart junk. Let the data shine through. Favor linear over spatial comparisons. Eschew volumetric distortion. Wield Ockham’s Razor. Obey these commandments at all times. 3-D pie charts are the worst offenders and have long ago been banished to graph purgatory. Few has explained.

Why do I still like them? Let me be your graph optometrist for a sec and ask that annoyingly simple question: “Better A or Better B?”

So ... Better A?

bar chart

Or ... Better B?

3-D pie chart

While a usual reply to my optometrist is “I can’t freakin' tell because of those stinging drops you just put in my eyes,” in this case, the answer for me is B.

Some more background: The purpose here is to quickly and effectively convey the dominant sources of variation in a microarray experiment. Without doubt, the bar chart A has more detail and nicely uses linear instead of spatial comparison. It’s a great graph and in fact is the default one shown for such analyses in JMP Genomics.