Subscribe Bookmark
arati_mejdal

Staff

May 21, 2014

Happy Birthday ... I'll Take That $1

I’m sure most of you reading this have encountered the birthday probability problem:

Given a group of n people, what is the probability that at least two people have the same birthday? The answer is given by the formula

This formula is simplistic because it assumes birthdays are equally spread across all 365 days of the year, which according to some studies is not true. It also ignores leap year. But, for our purposes the formula works fine. Let’s have some fun with it!

Surprisingly, with only 23 people, the probability of at least one match is about 0.5073. With 40 people, the probability is about 0.8912, and with 60 people, the probability is about 0.9941. A plot of the formula is shown here:

For our little example, pretend I’m a teacher who teaches short courses. On the first day of class, I ask the students if they are willing to go along with a little wager. If there is at least one birthday match, everyone in the class has to give me $1. If not, I give everyone $1. What is the average amount of money I will have at the end of a year? The answer is easy to work out, and depends on the number of students in a class, and how many classes I teach during the year. The average amount at the end of the year is

where n is the number of people in the class, Prob is the probability from the formula above, and Classes is how many classes I teach during the year. I’m also interested in the standard deviation of the annual amount, given by the following: