Subscribe Bookmark RSS Feed

why does JMP 10 create a new instance when opening a data table

jacultra

Community Trekker

Joined:

Jul 31, 2013

I am using JMP 10.0.2.  Whenever i open a data table (from the desktop, an email, etc.) JMP launches a new instance of JMP instead of opening the data table within an existing instance.  Is there anyway to change this behavior?

12 REPLIES
Jeff_Perkinson

Community Manager

Joined:

Jun 23, 2011

I believe you can correct this with the following.

  • Exit out of all JMP sessions that are running
  • Run the JMP version you wish to use as the default JMP version (if you happen to have multiple JMP versions installed on your machine)
  • Go to File-->Preferences-->Windows Specific, then click on the Reset Associations button near the bottom of the dialog window

That should fix the Windows Registry to associate the current JMP session with JMP files.

Now try double clicking on your files and see if it behaves as expected.

Let us know if that fixes it.

-Jeff

-Jeff
jacultra

Community Trekker

Joined:

Jul 31, 2013

I followed the instructions and the problem still exists.  I get multiple instances of JMP 10.0.2 when i open JMP data tables by double clicking on them instead of the data tables being open in the same instance of JMP 10.0.2.

Please try the steps outlined in this Winter 2011 JMPer Cable article, page 7:

      http://www.jmp.com/about/newsletters/jmpercable/pdf/27_winter_2011.pdf

The steps outlined in that article should fix file type association issues for most cases.  However, if you still are having an issue, please follow up by submitting a Technical Support track with us.

Cheers,

-Win

rmurphy

Community Trekker

Joined:

May 22, 2012

I'm encountering a similar issue when trying to associate .csv files with JMP in Windows 7 environment.

I successfully associated the .csv file type with the JMP Application.  However, when I double click a .csv file, a new instance of JMP is launched - JMP, JMP [2], JMP [3], etc.

This does not happen when opening a .jmp data file, as .jmp files open into the "oldest" open JMP application running, e.g. JMP or JMP [2] if no JMP instance.

Is there something that needs to be added to the file assocation to force a .csv file to open into an already running JMP instance if available?

jakarman

Community Trekker

Joined:

Mar 8, 2012

When reviewing the question and answers it looks to me they are not belonging to eacht other.

What I extract is: 

The File-associations in Windows are a way to tell wich program to start for that file. That is working well.
The answer getting back is about correcting those file-associations.

The question/issue is that clicking on file in Windows will open up a new program every time. That is quit normal behavior (try word or others).

The file association can tell wich program to start, it does not know and cannot know (random pid) whether a program is already running.

Only with a smart inter-process communication set up this can be solved. Question: Is JMP having this option?

Starting open a file from within a running program (JMP or ohters) does know itself the own procecess id, pid).

In that approach very easy to open up multiple files by himself. 
Solution:

Instead of double clicking the easiest approach could be drag-drop the file to a running JMP process.     

jacultra

Community Trekker

Joined:

Jul 31, 2013

I disagree, each time you open an Excel file it doesn't launch a new instance of Excel.  This allows you to move data from worksheet to worksheet.

jacultra

Community Trekker

Joined:

Jul 31, 2013

I found that the Widnows Registry was as follows (for Windows 7):

HKEY_CLASS_ROOT\JMP.Document\shell\open\command = C:\Program Files\SAS\JMP\10\jmp.exe /shellopen "%1"

I changed this to:

HKEY_CLASS_ROOT\JMP.Document\shell\open\command = C:\Program Files\SAS\JMP\10\jmp.exe /shellopen

This appears to fix the issue where it would open a new instance of JMP each time you double click on a file.

tghunt1

Community Trekker

Joined:

Nov 18, 2015

Thanks, this worked for me.  After installing jmp13 I started having multiple jmp Home windows open every time I opened a .jmp or .jsl file from windows explorer.  Using the various options to reset defaults in the Prefrerence windows did not resolve the issue.

mikehd

Community Trekker

Joined:

Jun 23, 2011

I'm having the same issue with JMP11.2 64bit. I had JMP9.0.2 installed in parallel for awhile. The multiple instance behavior only started when I uninstalled JMP9. I've gone thru the reset file associations instructions including manually merging the .reg into my registry but no change in behavior. Editing the reg key per the above (removing "%1") didn't work either.

I can't find any new settings in Preferences that would govern this behavior. I certainly don't need a unique JMP home window for each file I open.

JMP9 never exhibited this behavior. When I had JMP9 and 11 co-installed I didn't have this behavior. It was after I uninstalled JMP9 it started. I had to reassociated the file extensions at that time as well.