cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
mhd7
Level II

using the same script in multiple data tables

Hi everyone, 

I am relatively new to JMP and have a "is this possible" question. I have 10 data tables that are identical in terms of columns and type of data, but have different values in each column as they are sorted by staff member. For the first person, I used graph builder to create 9 graphs. I saved the script to the data table as well as to the script window. My question is, since the columns are identical in each of the 10 data tables, can I run the script from the first data table to automatically create the same 9 graphs in the other 9 data tables? Or, do I need to rebuild the 9 graphs in each of the data tables?

Thank you for your help!

9 REPLIES 9

Re: using the same script in multiple data tables

Yes, this is possible. You could make one of the new tables the "active" table and run the script from the script editor window.

Or you could copy the saved script from the data table and paste them into the new data tables and run that way.

Dan Obermiller
txnelson
Super User

You could also edit the table script, and put a very simple dialog box, that asks the users what data table to run the script on.

Jim
mhd7
Level II

Thank you very much for your fast reply. When I copy the script for a graph and paste in "new script" it wants to pull from the original sheet. How do I tell it to run the variables within the current source and not from another table?

txnelson
Super User

So you have let say data table A, and you run a graph on it.