cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
vanessa_bama
Level I

how to interpret a regression with a dummy variable?

Hi Peeps,

I'm a student from Germany and writing my bachelor thesis and I really hope that you can help me with the interpretation of my regression analysis.

I need to check the influence of a independent variable on three dependant variables in two different categories. That's why I added a dummy variable which is coded with 1's and 0's (1 for the first category and 0 for the second) as an independent variable.

Unfortunately I cannot really handle the output. I think that something went wrong.. or maybe it didn't? Maybe you can help me and say if I did the regression model right and how I can interpret the output. I'll put a screenshot beneath. Unfortunately it's in german, but actually the tools is quit the same as in english.. if you have question, just ask and I will try to answer as well as I can.

12763_Bildschirmfoto 2016-09-19 um 15.15.53.png

Thaaaaank yooou verry much!!!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ron_horne
Super User (Alumni)

Re: how to interpret a regression with a dummy variable?

Hey vanessa_bama​,

changing the modeling type to nominal is correct. yet, for a more direct comparison between two categories you should use the ordinal modeling type.

Ii would also try to add the interaction between the independent variables to the model. this will allow you to test the hypothesis that each category has a different slope.

use the "By" option only if you strictly do not want to test for the differences between groups in their parameter estimates or you want to see the differences in model fit.

best,

ron

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

Vanessa,