BookmarkSubscribe
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
cjw0
Community Trekker

formula help!

I am using  JMP® Pro 14.2.0

I am not very experienced at writing JMP formulas. What I am trying to do is compare average medication levels for patients who have had a biopsy. The biopsies happen at irregular time intervals, therefore, most of the cells in the Bx Date column are blank (no biopsy happened at that date, but they were tested for their medication level). If I could write a formula to label the cells within 3 months of a given Bx Date I can then using that column to filter out only the data that is within 3 months of a biopsy date and start doing some statistics. Ideally the formula would also first make sure the drug levels are coming from the same patient (Tx# refer to individual patients).

thanks so much for your help

0 Kudos
6 REPLIES 6
txnelson
Super User

Re: formula help!

Here is one way to do it.  It first finds all of the Biopsy dates within the range of the current Lab Date, and then finds the biopsy closest to the current Lab Date from the found Biopsys

dt = Current Data Table();
x = .;
Tx = :Tx#;
theRows = dt << get rows where( Tx == :Tx# & :Bx Date >= :Lab Date - In Days( 90 ) & :Bx Date <= :Lab Date + In Days( 90 ) );
If( N Rows( theRows ) > 0,
	If( N Rows( theRows ) == 1,
		x = :Bx Date[theRows[1]],
		x = :Bx Date[theRows[1]];
		For( i = 2, i <= N Rows( theRows ), i++,
			If( Abs( :Bx Date[theRows[i]] - :Lab Date ) < Abs( x - :Lab Date ),
				x = :Bx Date[theRows[i]]
			)
		);
	)
);
x;
Jim
cjw0
Community Trekker

Thanks for your fast reply. If I apply your formula I get the following…. (See screenshot). Unfortunately the dates in the new “column 6” go past the Bx Date…..thus is not ideal since my question is how do the medication level leading up to the biopsy effect the biopsy result? Is there a way to tweak this so that at the time of the biopsy the date in column 6 will change to the date of the next biopsy from the Bx Date column?