cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Submit your abstract to the call for content for Discovery Summit Americas by April 23. Selected abstracts will be presented at Discovery Summit, Oct. 21- 24.
Discovery is online this week, April 16 and 18. Join us for these exciting interactive sessions.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
dr-k
Level I

Using "save session script"

Hello,

I'm new to JMP. I can open xlsx or txt files in JMP, color code based on column values and make multiple plots and format them. Now the original file (xlsx or txt) from which I import will be updated daily. I want JMP to reflect this update in the plots each time I open it. Looking at the help file, I thought that if I "save session script", then each time I open that script, it would re-open the file and redo all the activities that I did so as to reach the same formatted plots with new updated data. However, each time I click on "save session script", it generates a 0 KB jsl file. So this file has nothing and does not do what I need when I open it in a new session. Also, when I open a new txt file in JMP, make some changes and then view log - I see nothing in there.

Am I missing something?

Thanks much for your help!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Jeff_Perkinson
Community Manager Community Manager

Re: Using "save session script"

I'm sorry for the difficulty here.

I think there's some confusion over what a Session Script is and what it can do.

A session script will attempt to recreate a JMP session as it is at the moment that you save the session script. It does this by examining all open windows and asking them for a script to reproduce them.