cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Rini_Kar
Level II

Update column with values when another columns contains specific value

Hi, 

I have two columns named 'Mailing country' and 'Mailing state'. Some of the rows under Mailing country particularly for USA does not contain any value.  I would like to update Mailing country column with value 'USA' when Mailing state contains values corresponding to various state code in the US. I have close to 250,000 rows, so manually update is not possible. I am new to JMP and scripting and I cannot figure out a way to solve this issue.

I have attached a screenshot of my sample data. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

JMP.JPG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
txnelson
Super User

Re: Update column with values when another columns contains specific value

Here is one solution taking a little liberty with Mark's script

For Each Row(
     temp=:Mailing Country;
	:Mailing Country = If( Is Missing( :Mailing Country ) & Contains( {"AL","AZ"}, :Mailing State ), "USA" ,temp);
);
Jim

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11

You could use a formula in a new column like this:

If( Is Missing( :Mailing Country ) & Contains( {"AL","AZ"}, :Mailing State ), "USA" )

If you don't want a new column, then you could run this script to replace the missing values in the existing column:

For Each Row(
	:Mailing Country = If( Is Missing( :Mailing Country ) & Contains( {"AL","AZ"}, :Mailing State ), "USA" );
);

You would have to expand the list in either case to include the two-letter code for every state before using.

Rini_Kar
Level II

Hi Mark,

Thank you for your solution.