Our World Statistics Day conversations have been a great reminder of how much statistics can inform our lives. Do you have an example of how statistics has made a difference in your life? Share your story with the Community!
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Highlighted
chalpern
Level I

Two questions about Custom two-factor, random block model table

I am new to JMP. I have generated a custom two-factor RBD model table for an ecological field experiment. See attached PDF of screen shots of my Custom Model-building journey.

The experiment consists of 4 spatially defined replicate blocks (Random Block), with two categorical, two-level treatments (+/- Limp and +/- Moist).  The four treatment combinations (+L+M, +L-M, -L+M, -L-M) were randomly assigned to the four plots that comprise each block. n=4 replicates (blocks), # observations=16.

1. Does it look like I've specified the model properly?

2. Why is the response column blank? I can paste in the relevant data, but I am looking for a way to automatically link the model table to the data table.

Thanks for any comments or suggestions.

10 REPLIES 10
Highlighted
chalpern
Level I

Re: Two questions about Custom two-factor, random block model table

Fit Model(
    Y( :Name( "MY87-Ja88" ) ),
    Random Effects( :Random Block ),
    Effects( :Name( "+/- Limp" ), :Name( "+/- Moist" ), :Name( "+/- Limp" ) * :Name( "+/- Moist" ) ),
    NoBounds( 1 ),
    Personality( "Mixed Model" ),
    Run
)
Highlighted
statman
Level VII

Given the random selection of blocks, your model looks correct.  I don't understand the 2nd question?  Your data table must contain the "factors" (block, L & M) and any response variables. All of the data need to be in one table. Once you have the data table complete you can "run" your model.

Highlighted
chalpern
Level I