Subscribe Bookmark RSS Feed

'Set Pixels' command isn't working as expected...?

ahutson22

Community Trekker

Apr 10, 2015

I've cobbled together a script to correct an image, from grey-scale to just black and white.  The data looks right, but I would like to verify it visually by using the 'set pixels' command.  The resulting image appears to be a gradient, black on the left moving towards white to the right.

I'm new to JMP, please advise.

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solution

Ah, I see what is happening. You are not doing anything wrong. We just need to add a wait() in between the data table creation and using the values from the data table that we are computing.

After the data table is created we are going through a loop, pulling out the values for :I, or in your script, :A. But both :I and :A are being computed with a formula. So we are attempting to pull the values out of the data table before the computations of the columns are completed. We need to wait long enough for the computations to complete before trying to use the values from our computed columns. In fact, if you run the code, look at the lower, left corner of the data table window as soon as it appears on the screen. You may see a message, "evaluating A", followed by another message, "evaluations done". You may not actually see the first message since it goes pretty quick. But we need to wait for the evaluations to be done before we can use the values.

To do that, just add this:

wait(3);

just after the data table creation statement and before the creation of the inten matrix. That should give the data table enough time to run the formulas. You may have to tweak the actual number (of seconds).

10 REPLIES
JohnPonte

Staff

Jun 17, 2013

Here is some JSL that shows how to get an image, convert it to gray scale and then use 'set pixels' to replace the rgb image with the gray scale image.

img = newImage("$SAMPLE_IMAGES/tile.jpg");

{r, g, b} = img << get pixels("rgb");