cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Marie-Eve
Level I

Screen for important effects from multiple nominal variables with 1 continuous response, using historical data

Hello,

I'm new to JMP and I'm learning about statistical analysis. I would like some pointers on what I'm trying to achieve. 

Let's say I am working on expressing a protein using a bacteria. 

I have one response : Yield (mg/mL)

I have multiple (nominal) elements regulating the expression in the bacteria :

- Type of expression promoters : PromA, PromB, PromC, PromD, ... etc (I have 20+ choices) 

- Type of terminator : Term1, Term2, Term3, Term4, Term5

- Type of bacteria :  BactX, BactY, BactZ.

I have expressed the protein using many of the possible combinations of Promoters, Terminators and Bacteria, and have measured the yield for each trial. Most combinations were tested several times (3 to 50 replicates per combination)

I already have a lot of data, and I would like to screen for important effects and relations between the variables to explain how to maximize yields. I did not use the DOE feature to create the experiment, this is historical data.

Any hints to how I should proceed ? I will be happy to watch videos or read about your suggestions.

Thank you !

5 REPLIES 5
statman
Super User

Re: Screen for important effects from multiple nominal variables with 1 continuous response, using historical data

Welcome to the community @Marie-Eve !  Just a few thoughts:

1. How confident are you in the measurement system?

2. Are the multiple results for similar combinations repeats or replicates (are they independent data points or not)?

3. I might look at those data points first and then possible summarize those to look at the factor combination effects.

4. Usually with historical data sets I start with Regression (standard Least Squares or Logistic):