BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
SandraSeidl
New Contributor

REML residuals - Bug or True Value?

Hi,

I am relatively new in building models with REML. I encoutered an usual behavior of residuals and I am not sure if it is a bug or not:

I have no preknowledge regarding the interaction of the different factors, therefore I build a model with stepwise regression (named 'SR: Response - BIC' in the data table) first, where I used the blocking factor as categorical factor. After identifiying the significant parameters, I rebuild the model with REML (named 'REML: Response' in the data table) using the same parameters as in the stepwise regression model, but I changed the blocking factor to a random effect.

After that I saved the studentized residuals of both models. The residuals of the stepwise regression model look quite 'normal'. However, the residuals of the REML model include an huge outlier (run 10), altough the actual vs. predicted plot shows no anomalies. Furthermore, the residual value for run 4 is missing and I can't explain why this is the case.

Does someone know, why ths outlier exists and why the residual is missing? Thanks in advance!

Data description:

• 1 response
  • 9 factors
  • 1 blocking factor

Software:

• JMP 14.0.0
0 Kudos
2 REPLIES 2
Highlighted

Re: REML residuals - Bug or True Value?

First of all, the choice of a fixed or a random effect depends on the nature of the factor and how you see its contribution to the response. Can you establish the same blocks in the future? Can you use the block level to predict future observations? That sounds like a fixed effect to me. If you cannot establish the same blocks in the future, then it is likely that the levels in this experiment are a sample and the next experiment would be a new sample of the blocks. That sounds like a random effect to me.