Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Highlighted
Yusuf
Level I

Problem with Reliability and Survival Analysis - Fit Proportional Hazards model

Hello,I use JMP and SAS daily. One of my current project is an analysis of Survival data. To train myself, I studied the example provided in the SAS manual:https://support.sas.com/documentation/cdl/en/statug/63962/HTML/default/viewer.htm#statug_phreg_sect0...  When I fit the same model with the exact data in JMP, I got different parameter estimates for the categorical variables (Cell, Prior, Therapy) even though I set the same reference category for these variables.
I wonder why JMP get different estimates for the categorical covariates?

PS. I fit the same model in R using the suvival package. SAS and R provide almost the similar estimates for the parameters.

7 REPLIES 7
Highlighted

Re: Problem with Reliability and Survival Analysis - Fit Proportional Hazards model

SAS and JMP parameterize categorical variables differently, so the estimates are not the same. That is, you enter one term for a variable with three levels leads to different dummy variables in the regression and different estimates. See Help > Books > Reliability and Survival. Look at the chapter with the Statistical Details. The book Fitting Linear Models also explains the parameterization of the linear predictor that you are using.

I bet, though, that the SAS model and the JMP model yield the same predicted values.

You cannot change the model parameterization in JMP.

Learn it once, use it forever!
Highlighted
Yusuf
Level I

Re: Problem with Reliability and Survival Analysis - Fit Proportional Hazards model

Hi Mark,

Thank you for your explanation. I already assumed that they may be using different parametrization for the categorical variables, so the parameter estimates would be different. I also agree with you that they should provide the same predicted values.