cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
luqi
Level II

Opening multiple DataTables

So I want to create an application that will prompt the user to specify a certain number of data tables after which the user can pick the corresponding tables. Also I would like to add columns to each of those tables. I am still new to jmp/jsl but below is my script which of course does not work, Any help is well appreciated;

New Window( "Number of Data Tables",

<<Modal,

Text Box( "Number of Data Tables" ),

variablebox = Number Edit Box(),

Button Box( "OK" ),

Button Box( "Cancel" )

);

N = Variablebox << get;

For( i = 1, i <= N Items( dt ), i++,

dt = Open()

Names Default To Here(1);

dt=Current Data Table (i);

dt << New Column("ColumnA", Numeric, continous, Format("Best", 5));

dt << New Column("ColumnB", Numeric, continous, Format("Best", 5));

);

PS: I know the script for adding additonal columns has to go in the For loop somehow but if I can even open the data tables, then how can i even add the columns.

PMroz​  jordanhiller@jmp​  chris.kirchbergCHFieldsMarkBailey

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ian_jmp
Staff

Re: Opening multiple DataTables

So now I understand that your question is about selection of which files to open . . .

It looks like 'PickFile()' may already be flexible enough do what you require (see 'Help > Scripting Index').

In so far as it needs to interact with the operating system, you might expect some slight difference between Windows and OS/X, and it seems that's the case here. Unfortunately, though, I don't have a Windows machine on which to test the code below (I'm also assuming that for multiple selections 'PickFile()' will indeed return a list):

Names Default To Here( 1 );