Subscribe Bookmark RSS Feed

Newbie Question: Sort Axis

Eintopf

Contributor

Feb 17, 2017

Hello there,

I am new to this programm and also to this community. I hope te question is in the right section.

I have a simple chart. First collum are names, like x1, x2, o1, o2, y1, y2, z1, z2

Second collum are values like: 1, 4, 2, 5, 2, 4, 3, 6,

When I draw a graph for this value, the order for the X-axis is o1, o2, x1, x2, y1, y2, z1, z2.

Where can I find the option to make the order like in the first collum?

Thanks and greetings,

11 REPLIES
txnelson

Super User

Jun 22, 2012

You can do one of 2 things. 

1.  Go to the column header for the column that has the x1, x2, o1, o2.  Rt click on the header and select

Column Properties==>Value Ordering

Specify the order you want the values to be

2. If the data are in your data table in the order you want them to be displayed, you can Rt Click on the header, and select

Column Properties==>Row Order Levels

This will order the axis in question based upon the order the values are found in the data table

Jim
Eintopf

Contributor

Feb 17, 2017

Thanks for the fast answer. I have the German version, so i have to tranlate it a little. So far I just can chose between one of the following options in the raw order menu:

Datatype: numerical / sign / column properties / expression

Scale type: ordinal / numerical / multipe answer / unstructured text / nothing

But the only result is no change at all or a deleted column

txnelson

Super User

Jun 22, 2012

You apparently selected Col Info(English), Spalteninfo(German).  What needs to be done to do the Value Ordering(english) you need to right mouse click on the column header(Sex in my example) and then select

Spaltenneigenschaften==>Wertereihenfolge

Geman Value Ordering.PNG

and then you will get this screen which will allow you to change the order of how the values should be displayed

german set order.PNG

Jim
Eintopf

Contributor

Feb 17, 2017