Subscribe Bookmark RSS Feed

Joining two JMP Tables stored in local folder based on criteria?

vinods20150

Community Trekker

Jan 10, 2016

Hello All,

I am relatively new to JMP and still exploring..

I have two jmp files in my local folder, that hold hospital patient ID and their visit date information in columns. One jmp file contains Outpatient visit data and another file inpatient visit data, both for a period from 2010 to 2015.

I want to compare and join the two jmp files such that the join provides me a subset of patients whose outpatient visit date is less than equal to 14 days from inpatient visit date (Criteria)

I am using JMP 12.0 and the  The "Join" under Tables menu does not allow me to construct the criteria between the columns in the two tables.

How do I go about? Do I have to write a SQL? If so what and where should I write the SQL that can compare the two jmp tables and join them to derive the answer?

Thanks for any help.

Regards,

Vinod

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solution

Good Morning and Thank You Ian. I ran the jsl file and the output works right..

I tried to modify the jsl to apply on the two jmp tables I had. I seem to be doing something wrong in the script as nothing happens on running script nor do I get any error message, I am attaching the edited jsl for your verification and guidance.

The above script works for scenario1, for scenario 2 that I outlined earlier where the inpatient and outpatient jmp tables are concatenated into one integrated jmp table how should the script change? To distinguish which rows of data are inpatient and which are outpatient, I had a column introduced with the flag "OP" and "IP" against each row of data. The Patient ID and Visit data of both inpatient and outpatient tables got concatenated in an patient ID and Visit Date column within the integrated jmp table.

14 REPLIES
ian_jmp

Staff

Jun 23, 2011