Subscribe Bookmark RSS Feed

JSL code to clear selected data table contents

terapin

Community Trekker

Joined:

Jun 23, 2011

I'm trying to do something that I think should be very easy to accomplish, but I can't find the JSL instruction that will let me.  Basically, after selecting various columns and rows I want to delete the contents of the selected cells, not the entire column or row.  I can do this manually, but can't find the JSL command to do so.  Any suggestions would be appreciated.

E.g.,

dt = Open( "$SAMPLE_DATA/Big Class.jmp" );

dt << Select Rows( [5, 7, 8, 10] );

Column ( "name" ) << Set Selected ( 1 );

Column ( "sex" ) << Set Selected ( 1 );

Now delete the contents of the selected cells.

Thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solution

Something like this:

NamesDefaultToHere(1);

dt = Open( "$SAMPLE_DATA/Big Class.jmp" );

// Set up a selection of cells

dt << Select Rows( [5, 7, 8, 10] );

Column (dt, "name" ) << Set Selected ( 1 );

Column (dt, "sex" ) << Set Selected ( 1 );

// Function to set currently selected cells to '.' or ""

clearSelectedCells =

  Function({dt}, {Default Local},

  selCols = dt << getSelectedColumns;

  selRows = dt << getSelectedRows;

  for(c=1, c<=NItems(selCols), c++,

  dType = Column(dt, selCols[c]) << getDataType;

  if (dType == "Numeric",

  Column(dt, selCols[c])[selRows] = .

  ,

  Column(dt, selCols[c])[selRows] = ""

  );

  );

  );

// Use the function

clearSelectedCells(dt);

6 REPLIES
Solution

Something like this:

NamesDefaultToHere(1);

dt = Open( "$SAMPLE_DATA/Big Class.jmp" );

// Set up a selection of cells

dt << Select Rows( [5, 7, 8, 10] );

Column (dt, "name" ) << Set Selected ( 1 );

Column (dt, "sex" ) << Set Selected ( 1 );

// Function to set currently selected cells to '.' or ""

clearSelectedCells =

  Function({dt}, {Default Local},

  selCols = dt << getSelectedColumns;

  selRows = dt << getSelectedRows;

  for(c=1, c<=NItems(selCols), c++,

  dType = Column(dt, selCols[c]) << getDataType;

  if (dType == "Numeric",

  Column(dt, selCols[c])[selRows] = .

  ,

  Column(dt, selCols[c])[selRows] = ""

  );

  );

  );

// Use the function

clearSelectedCells(dt);

ms

Super User

Joined:

Jun 23, 2011

Nice function Ian! To simplify it further you could avoid treating different data types separately by using Empty(). It works for both Numeric and Character columns.

For(c = 1, c <= N Items(selCols), c++, Column(dt, selCols[c])[selRows] = Empty());

ian_jmp

Staff

Joined:

Jun 23, 2011

Many thanks! Fewer characters is good, especially with my typing . . .

ms

Super User

Joined:

Jun 23, 2011

A simple but potentially risky method is to use MainMenu() to invoke the Delete command in the Edit Menu. It is risky because it will delete anything that is selected in the active window. So in a complex script, make sure to keep track of what window that will be on top when the command is run.

dt = Open("$SAMPLE_DATA/Big Class.jmp");

dt << Select Rows([5, 7, 8, 10]);

Column("name") << Set Selected(1);

Column("height") << Set Selected(1);

dt << Bring Window To Front;

Main Menu("Delete");



terapin

Community Trekker

Joined:

Jun 23, 2011

Thanks folks for your suggestions,

Nice to see several options.  I was thinking there should be a typical command I could call as suggested by MS ( Note: actual command is  Main Menu("Clear");, not Main Menu("Delete"))


Jeff_Perkinson

Community Manager

Joined:

Jun 23, 2011

There's a difference between operating system standards here.  Windows uses Edit->Clear and the Mac uses Edit->Delete.

So, to make a script robust to either you'll need to use:


If(Host is( Windows ),


  Main Menu( "Clear" ), //Windows


  Main Menu( "Delete" ) //Mac


);


-Jeff

-Jeff