Subscribe Bookmark RSS Feed

JSL- Sum :qty sorted by rows with same string in :city

loysius

Community Trekker

Jun 5, 2015

Hi everyone,

I'm new to scripting and am at a total loss trying to find informational tutorials on JSL. I will really appreciate any help at all with my problem.

Basically, I need to sort by :City and sum up the value in each item's :Qty and then display it. Problem being that I need to dynamically put together a list of all the different strings in :City and then sum up all numeric values in :Qty for those rows that have matching strings in the :City column.

So for example the table would look like this

tableEx =

CityQty
a1

a210
a929
a199
a420
a791
a260
a10033
a50030
a10014
a992000
etc...etc...

This next part doesn't need to be read to solve my issue, it just details how I wish to solve the problem in my mind. I wish I could do something like this;

List_Of_CityNames = new List();

switch = false;

Foreach Row r in tableEx

{

Foreach String city in List_Of_CityNames

{

if( r.Get(City) == city)

switch = true;              //means this row's :City entry is already on the list so we don't need to add it.

}

if(switch == false)                  //if this row's :City hasn't been put on the list yet then this executes

{

List_Of_CityNames.Add( r.Get(City));    //city added to list

}

switch = false;                       //switch reset to City not found on list yet

}

If this would work I'd have made the list out of tuples and made it a string + int pair to allow me to sum up the qty of matching cities as well in the above loop. Then I would just print it out by making a New Table() if I could.

After gathering the above information I would then need to print it out, Would anyone happen to know how to create a table based off of the dynamic size of the list which may or may not be a part of the first solution.

dtSolution = New Table("Solution",

Add Row(/* numeric value representing number of different city names */),