Subscribe Bookmark RSS Feed

JSL: How to use subscripts to manipulate contingency reports

elizperez

Community Trekker

Sep 27, 2013

Hi, I'm trying to create a dynamic script that will create contingency tables in a report and associated statistics based on user selected column assignments. This is my first attempt at JSL so I'm an absolute beginner. I have the user form and table creation working but I'm struggling with understanding how to refer to the different parts of the generated report in order to do simple things like set the decimal format for kappa statistic. Eventually I'd like to also be able to extract the values from the displayed contingency tables do calculations and display the results somewhere else in the report. I've been reading about subscripts and am trying to use that concept to dig into the report but I can't figure out how to use them correctly. I know I need to get a good understanding on this concept because the user will be able to select from 2 columns to 10 and therefore the script can produce anywhere from 1 to 25 contingency tables all of which I need to keep track of and refer to later. So I know it might be best to assign variables to each but I can't figure that out either since the building of the tables is automated by JMP rather than using something like a For loop. Any help is very much appreciated I'd also love any feedback on JSL scripting unrelated to my specific questions (e.g. best practices, etc.) for learning purposes.

The part I'm struggling with is the section that is commented out with /*------*/. Sorry for the excessive commenting but being my first script I'm try to capture concepts that my future self can look back at. I'm using JMP 10.0.1 release 2 on Windows 7. I couldn't find a sample data set already in JMP that is typical of what I'm working with so here's a miniature version:

SampleIDAssay#1Assay#2Reference
307HV093NegativeNegativeNegative
307HV093NegativeNegativeNegative