cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
SajithD
Level I

JMP Custom DOE vs Full Factorial DOE

Hi,

I'm new to JMP. I would like to learn and understand the difference between the Custom DOE design and the Full Factorial DOE design. I am designing an experiment using 4 variables (2 levels each, 4th variable is categorical). A full factorial requires 16 runs. When I build the experiment in Custom design however, the default # of runs in JMP is 12. Why are the # of runs in each of these different? I get why it is 16 in the full factorial (2^4). But why is JMP recommending just 12 in the custom design? What's been assumed/factored into each of these designs?

I would greatly appreciate any help on this!

Thanks,

Sajith

6 REPLIES 6
cwillden
Super User (Alumni)

Re: JMP Custom DOE vs Full Factorial DOE

That's a whole course of study contained in that question, but I'll try to summarize as best I can.  Custom Design is built on a completely different paradigm of "optimal" or "algorithmic" designs.  Full factorial designs are a classical type of DOE.  They enforce all possible combinations of factor levels into the design.  This gives the design some very desirable properties, such as orthogonal effects (no correlation between model terms, so coefficients are estimated with maximal precision for given number of runs).  You can also estimate all main effects and higher order terms up to n-way interactions for n factors.  However, you'll find that these designs quickly explode in size.  A full factorial with 8 factors, each with 2 levels, has 2^8 = 256 runs.  In most cases that is way too many runs.