cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
nqj
nqj
Level III

Iterating Down Rows

Hi,

I'm new to JMP/JSL but have experience with Java and am currently writing a program that needs to iterate through a column of address data and check if the address is already in the system; if it is, it should populate new columns with the latitude and longitude values. I'm using associative arrays and this is what I have so far:

NamesDefaultToHere(1); //all variables local
rawData = Open("Kevin-PriceAnalysis-DO Basis US thru April.jmp");
Current Data Table(rawData); //current data table set to list of hospitals
address = Column(rawData, "Full Address");
dt_latMap = Associative Array(address, rawData:Latitude); //maps unique full address to latitude
dt_longMap = Associative Array(address, rawData:Longitude); //maps unique full address to longitude
dt_coord = new Table("Coordinates",
New Column("Lat", Numeric, Continuous, Format("Lat DDD", 24, 14)),
New Column("Long", Numeric, Continuous, Format("Long DDD", 24, 14))
); //new data table of coordinates (empty)
For(i = 1, i <= N Rows(rawData), i++, //iterates through raw data, checks if contaied in map
If(Contains(dt_latMap, address[i]), //if yes updates coordinates
dt_coord:Lat = dt_latMap<<Get Value(address[i]);
dt_coord:Long = dt_longMap<<Get Value(address[i]),
!Contains(dt_latMap, address[i]), //if not, keep looping
continue();
);
);

I keep getting an "cannot set value for 'Lat' because row number (-1) is invalid. I thought it could be a problem with column naming but I tried changing the names of the columns. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: Iterating Down Rows