BookmarkSubscribe
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Mananahi
Community Trekker

Interpretting Generalized model results on the original scale

Maybe this is a silly question but I'm new to generalized models. I have performed a beta generalized model on some proportion data that is naturally between 0 and 1. The model outputs parameter estimates that are significantly different between treatment groups as expected. The problem that I am having is that the parameter estimates are on a new scale that is not between 0 and 1. I am assuming this is due to some kind of transformation the program uses to run the model. I want to be able to interpret these results on the original scale. ie: The test mice consumed 95% of the feed treated with product A(Confidence interval [97%, 93%]) While the feed treated with product B only saw 20% consumption (Confidence interval [24%,16%]) Does anyone know an easy way of back transforming the estimates?

0 Kudos
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
julian
Staff

Re: Interpretting Generalized model results on the original scale

Hi @Mananahi,

By 'Generalized Model' do you mean the Generalized Regression personality in Fit Model? I'll assume so for this answer, but if you're doing something else let me know. 

Models such as this employ a link function, so your parameter estimates, as you noticed, are not in the original units of your variable. Here's a link to the statistical details for those response distributions, and here are the specific details for the beta:beta.png