Share your ideas for the JMP Scripting Unsession at Discovery Summit by September 17th. We hope to see you there!
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Highlighted
NateB
Level II

I'm completely lost as to how to set up my data and what test to run. Could someone help?

I'm new to JMP and statistics. I just collected the first round of data for my masters research and am at a loss on how to analyze it. I have eight plant species, from which I made four concentrations of leachate (1.87, 3.75, 7.5, and 15g/25ml). The leachate was was used to test germination inhibition (each concentration was tested on four replicates for each plant for a total of 128 data points). Just by looking at the data, it seems clear that the amount of inhibition varies by both concentration and species. A simple Y by X showed significance with concentration. However, I'm looking to test whether or not each species at each concentration is significantly inhibiting germination. I'm at a loss on what to do. 

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Re: I'm completely lost as to how to set up my data and what test to run. Could someone help?

I hope that you realize that you put 'the cart before the horse.' The design of your study should have been for the analysis to follow. Collecting data by any means and then wondering about how to analyze it is risky, at best.

Set up data columns for each factor (Species, Leachate Concentration) and the response. Each row is one observation, so enter the replicate observations on separate rows. Then select Analyze > Fit Model. Select Species and Leachate Concentration and click Macros > Full Factorial. Select the response column and click Y. Click Run.

Come back when you get this far to ask about interpretation.

Learn it once, use it forever!

View solution in original post

Highlighted

Re: I'm completely lost as to how to set up my data and what test to run. Could someone help?